CONSERVATORY

About the Conservatory

Faculty Directory

Name Title   Phone Email
Gary Abbott Assistant Professor of Modern Dance Visit Page 816-235-2939 abbottgb@umkc.edu
Marita Abner Assistant Teaching Professor of Bassoon Visit Page 816-235-2910 abnerm@umkc.edu
James Albright Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Visit Page albrightja@umkc.edu
Douglas Auwarter Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Percussion Visit Page auwarterd@umkc.edu
Keith Benjamin Professor of Trumpet Visit Page 816-235-2904 benjamink@umkc.edu
Paul Bessetti Adjunct Instructor Visit Page bessettip@umkc.edu
Robert Bode Raymond R. Neevel/Missouri Professor of Choral Music and Director of Choral Activities Visit Page 816-235-2941 boder@umkc.edu
Andrea Boswell-Burns Assistant Teaching Professor Visit Page 816-235-2912 boswellburnsa@umkc.edu
Bob Bowman Adjunct Instructor of Music Visit Page bowmanb@umkc.edu
Christina Burton Adjunct Instructor of Dance Visit Page burtonch@umkc.edu
Jane Carl Professor of Clarinet / Chair of Instrumental Studies Visit Page 816-235-2927 carlj@umkc.edu
Dr. Chen Yi Lorena Searcy Cravens/ Millsap/ Missouri Distinguished Professor of Composition Visit Page 816-235-2911 cheyi@umkc.edu
Vinson Cole Professor of Voice Visit Page 816-235-2958 colev@umkc.edu
JoDee Davis Associate Professor of Trombone Visit Page 816-235-2903 davisjod@umkc.edu
Steven D. Davis Rose Ann Carr Millsap Missouri Distinguished Professor of Music Director of Bands and Wind Ensembles Visit Page 816-235-2952 davisst@umkc.edu
Steve Dekker Adjunct Instructor Visit Page dekkers@umkc.edu
Alison DeSimone Assistant Professor of Musicology Visit Page 816-235-2859 desimonea@umkc.edu
Joseph DeSota Adjunct Instructor of Opera Visit Page desotaj@umkc.edu
Justin Doss Adjunct Instructor of Music Education Visit Page dossja@umkc.edu
Alexander East Adjunct Associate Professor, Cello Visit Page eastao@umkc.edu
Beth Elswick Associate Teaching Professor of Music Theory Visit Page 816-235-2929 elswickb@umkc.edu
Danny Embrey Adjunct Instructor, Jazz Guitar Visit Page embryd@umkc.edu
William Everett Curators' Distinguished Professor of Musicology Visit Page 816-235-2857 everettw@umkc.edu
Raymond Feener Associate Professor of Voice/Chair of Vocal Studies Visit Page 816-235-2918 feenerr@umkc.edu
Hali Fieldman Associate Professor of Music Theory Visit Page 816-235-2951 fieldmanh@umkc.edu
Lawrence Figg Adjunct Assistant Professor, Cello Visit Page figgl@umkc.edu
Rod Fleeman Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Guitar Visit Page 816-235-2905 fleemanr@umkc.edu
Noah Geller Adjunct Professor of Violin Visit Page 816-235-2915 gellern@umkc.edu
Joseph Genualdi Professor of Violin Visit Page 816-235-6698 genualdij@umkc.edu
Mark Gibbs Adjunct Professor, Cello Visit Page gibbsm@umkc.edu
Mara Gibson Associate Teaching Professor/Coordinator of Undergraduate Composition Recruitment Visit Page 816-235-2968 gibsonmb@umkc.edu
Andrew Granade Chair of Composition, Music Theory, and Musicology / Associate Professor of Musicology Visit Page 816-235-2937 granadea@umkc.edu
Robert Groene Director and Associate Professor of Music Therapy Visit Page 816-235-2920 groener@umkc.edu
Kelly Ker Hackleman Adjunct Associate Professor of Music Visit Page hacklemank@umkc.edu
Martin Hackleman Artist in Residence and Associate Teaching Professor of Horn Visit Page 816-235-2909 hacklemanm@umkc.edu
Shawn Harrel Adjunct Instructor, Music Education Visit Page harrels@umkc.edu
Mary Pat Henry Professor of Dance Visit Page 816-235-2938 henrym@umkc.edu
Jacob Herzog Adjunct Instructor, Jazz Piano Visit Page herzogj@umkc.edu
Dee Anna Hiett Associate Professor of Dance Visit Page 816-235-5713 hiettd@umkc.edu
Patricia Higdon Associate Teaching Professor, Collaborative Pianist Visit Page 816-235-2984 higdonp@umkc.edu
Tobin James Adjunct Assistant Professor, Dance Visit Page jamesto@umkc.edu
Celeste Johnson Associate Professor of Oboe Visit Page 816-235-5630 johnsonfrehnerc@umkc.edu
Kari Johnson Adjunct Instructor, Piano Visit Page johnsonkari@umkc.edu
David Justin Adjunct Professor of Dance Visit Page homesdav@umkc.edu
Jeffrey Kail Adjunct Professor of String Bass Visit Page 816-235-1246 kailj@umkc.edu
Maria Kanyova Associate Professor of Voice Visit Page 816-235-2916 kanyovamaria@umkc.edu
Stan Kessler Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Trumpet Visit Page 816-235-2905 kesslers@umkc.edu
Benny Kim Associate Professor of Violin Visit Page 816-235-2935 kimb@umkc.edu
Karen Kushner Adjunct Associate Professor of Piano Visit Page 816-235-2961 kushnerk@umkc.edu
Fenlon Lamb Director of Opera and Assistant Teaching Professor Visit Page 816-235-2917 lambfm@umkc.edu
Scott Lee Associate Professor of Viola Visit Page 816-235-2944 leesc@umkc.edu
Kenneth Lidge Assistant Teaching Professor of Music Theory Visit Page 816-235-1248 lidgek@umkc.edu
Jim Lower Adjunct Instructor, Jazz Percussion Visit Page lowerj@umkc.edu
Sabrina Madison-Cannon Professor of Dance / Associate Dean of Academic and Faculty Affairs Visit Page 816-235-2945 madisoncannons@umkc.edu
Jill Marlow Krutzkamp Adjunct Instructor of Dance Visit Page krutzkampj@umkc.edu
Christopher McLaurin Adjunct Professor of Music Visit Page 816-235-6066 mclaurinc@umkc.edu
James Mobberley Adjunct Professor Visit Page 816-235-2968 mobberleyj@umkc.edu
Dale Morehouse Associate Professor of Voice - Opera Visit Page 816-235-2934 morehoused@umkc.edu
Christina Neil Adjunct Assistant Professor, Dance Visit Page neilc@umkc.edu
Laura New Adjunct Instructor of Music Theory Visit Page 816-235-2901 newl@umkc.edu
Nara Newcomer Head of UMKC Music/Media Library, Adjunct Associate Professor Visit Page 816-235-1679 newcomern@umkc.edu
Douglas Niedt, Jr. Associate Professor of Guitar Visit Page 816-235-2922 niedtd@umkc.edu
Ryan Oldham Adjunct Associate Professor of Music Visit Page 816-235-6459 oldhamrp@umkc.edu
Robert Olson Professor, Director of Orchestras Visit Page 816-235-5208 olsonrh@umkc.edu
Joe Parisi Chair of Music Education-Music Therapy /Professor of Instrumental Music Education / Associate Director of Bands Visit Page 816-235-2919 parisijo@umkc.edu
Barbara Penn Adjunct Assistant Professor Visit Page pennb@umkc.edu
Diane Petrella Professor of Piano and Piano Pedagogy / Chair of Keyboard Studies / Executive Associate Dean Visit Page 816-235-2353 petrellad@umkc.edu
Nick Petrella Adjunct Assistant Professor of Percussion Visit Page 816-235-2950 petrellan@umkc.edu
Mary Posses Associate Professor of Flute Visit Page 816-235-2908 possesm@umkc.edu
Debra K. Raffety Adjunct Instructor of Music Education Visit Page raffetyd@umkc.edu
Natalia Rivera Assistant Teaching Professor; Vocal Coach/Accompanist Visit Page 816-235-2921 riveran@umkc.edu
Charles Robinson Professor of Choral Music Education, Choral Music Visit Page 816-235-2930 robinsonc@umkc.edu
Paul Rudy Curators' Distinguished Professor of Music Composition Visit Page 816-235-2940 rudyp@umkc.edu
Ann Shaughnessy Adjunct Instructor of Dance Visit Page shaughnessya@umkc.edu
Zachary Shemon Assistant Professor of Saxophone Visit Page 816-235-2733 shemonz@umkc.edu
Reynold Simpson Associate Professor of Music Theory Visit Page 816-235-2933 simpsonr@umkc.edu
James Snell Associate Professor of Music / Associate Dean of Enrollment, Facilities Management and Performance Operations Visit Page 816-235-2950 snellja@umkc.edu
Aidan Soder Associate Professor of Voice Visit Page 816-235-2923 sodera@umkc.edu
Jane Solose Professor of Piano Visit Page 816-235-2962 solosej@umkc.edu
Gerald Spaits Adjunct Instructor of Jazz String Bass Visit Page spaitsg@umkc.edu
Thomas Stein Associate Professor of Euphonium and Tuba Visit Page 816-235-5949 steint@umkc.edu
Forest Stewart Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Visit Page stewartf@umkc.edu
Andrew Stinson Adjunct Instructor of Musicology Visit Page stinsonan@umkc.edu
Dan Thomas Assistant Professor, Co-Chair Jazz Studies Visit Page 816-235-6078 thomasdanb@umkc.edu
Lee D. Thompson Adjunct Professor of Music Visit Page 816-235-2964 thompsonlee@umkc.edu
David Thurmaier Associate Professor of Music Theory Visit Page 816-235-2898 thurmaierd@umkc.edu
Ronald Tice Associate Professor of Dance Visit Page 816-235-2732 ticer@umkc.edu
Sarah Tyrrell Associate Teaching Professor Visit Page 816-235-2970 tyrrells@umkc.edu
Elizabeth Valle Academy Program Assistant Visit Page vallee@umkc.edu
Dan Velicer Associate Adjunct Professor, Collaborative Piano Visit Page velicerd@umkc.edu
Michael Warren Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Visit Page warrenma@umkc.edu
Bobby Watson, Jr. William D. and Mary Grant / Missouri Professor of Jazz Studies, Co-Chair Jazz Studies Visit Page 816-235-2905 watsonr@umkc.edu
Paula Weber Chair of Dance / Professor of Dance Visit Page 816-235-5216 weberp@umkc.edu
Robert Weirich Professor of Piano / Jack Strandberg Missouri Endowed Chair in Piano Visit Page 816-235-2957 weirichr@umkc.edu
Roger Wilder Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Piano Visit Page wilderr@umkc.edu
Richard Williams Assistant Professor of Piano / Voice / Collaborative Pianist / Vocal Coach Accompanist Visit Page 816-235-2914 williamsr@umkc.edu
Laurie Williams Assistant Teaching Professor Visit Page williamslau@umkc.edu
Dr. Zhou Long Distinguished Professor of Music Composition Visit Page 816-235-2924 zhoul@umkc.edu