CONSERVATORY

About the Conservatory

Faculty Directory

Name Title   Phone Email
Gary Abbott Assistant Professor of Modern Dance Visit Page 816-235-2939 abbottgb@umkc.edu
Marita Abner Assistant Teaching Professor of Bassoon Visit Page 816-235-2910 abnerm@umkc.edu
James Albright Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Visit Page albrightja@umkc.edu
Douglas Auwarter Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Percussion Visit Page auwarterd@umkc.edu
Matthew Bell Assistant Teaching Professor Visit Page 816-235-2901 bellmt@umkc.edu
Keith Benjamin Curators' Distinguished Professor of Trumpet Visit Page 816-235-2904 benjamink@umkc.edu
Paul Bessetti Adjunct Instructor Visit Page bessettip@umkc.edu
Robert Bode Raymond R. Neevel/Missouri Professor of Choral Music and Director of Choral Activities Visit Page 816-235-2941 boder@umkc.edu
BrĂ¡ulio Bosi Adjunct Instructor, Guitar Visit Page 816-235-1246 bosib@umkc.edu
Bob Bowman Adjunct Instructor of Music Visit Page bowmanb@umkc.edu
Christina Burton Adjunct Instructor of Dance Visit Page 816-235-2938 burtonch@umkc.edu
Jane Carl Professor of Clarinet / Chair of Instrumental Studies Visit Page 816-235-2927 carlj@umkc.edu
Sean Chen Artist in Residence Visit Page 816-235-2961 chensy@umkc.edu
Dr. Chen Yi Lorena Searcy Cravens/ Millsap/ Missouri Distinguished Professor of Composition Visit Page 816-235-2911 cheyi@umkc.edu
Vinson Cole Adjunct Professor, Voice Visit Page 816-235-2958 colev@umkc.edu
JoDee Davis Associate Professor of Trombone Visit Page 816-235-2903 davisjod@umkc.edu
Steven D. Davis Rose Ann Carr Millsap Missouri Distinguished Professor of Music Director of Bands and Wind Ensembles Visit Page 816-235-2952 davisst@umkc.edu
Steve Dekker Adjunct Instructor Visit Page dekkers@umkc.edu
Alison DeSimone Assistant Professor of Musicology Visit Page 816-235-2859 desimonea@umkc.edu
Justin Doss Adjunct Instructor of Music Education Visit Page dossja@umkc.edu
Beth Elswick Associate Teaching Professor of Music Theory Visit Page 816-235-2929 elswickb@umkc.edu
Danny Embrey Adjunct Instructor, Jazz Guitar Visit Page embryd@umkc.edu
William Everett Curators' Distinguished Professor of Musicology Visit Page 816-235-2857 everettw@umkc.edu
Raymond Feener Associate Professor of Voice/Chair of Vocal Studies Visit Page 816-235-2918 feenerr@umkc.edu
Hali Fieldman Associate Professor of Music Theory Visit Page 816-235-2951 fieldmanh@umkc.edu
Rod Fleeman Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Guitar Visit Page 816-235-2905 fleemanr@umkc.edu
Noah Geller Adjunct Professor of Violin Visit Page 816-235-2915 gellern@umkc.edu
Joseph Genualdi Professor of Violin Visit Page 816-235-6698 genualdij@umkc.edu
Andrew Granade Associate Dean of Graduate Studies, Professor of Musicology Visit Page 816-235-2937 granadea@umkc.edu
Meg Gray Assistant Teaching Professor Visit Page 816-235-6091 grayme@umkc.edu
Robert Groene Associate Professor of Music Therapy Visit Page 816-235-2920 groener@umkc.edu
Kelly Ker Hackleman Adjunct Associate Professor of Music Visit Page hacklemank@umkc.edu
Martin Hackleman Artist in Residence and Associate Teaching Professor of Horn Visit Page 816-235-2909 hacklemanm@umkc.edu
Lani Hamilton Assistant Professor of Music Education Visit Page 816-235-2354 hamiltonlan@umkc.edu
Shawn Harrel Adjunct Instructor, Music Education Visit Page harrels@umkc.edu
Mary Pat Henry Professor Emerita Visit Page 816-235-2938 henrym@umkc.edu
Jacob Herzog Adjunct Instructor, Jazz Piano Visit Page herzogj@umkc.edu
Dee Anna Hiett Associate Professor of Dance Visit Page 816-235-5713 hiettd@umkc.edu
Patricia Higdon Associate Teaching Professor, Collaborative Pianist Visit Page 816-235-2984 higdonp@umkc.edu
Spencer Huston Adjunct Assistant Professor of Music Visit Page 816-235-2922 hustons@umkc.edu
Tobin James Adjunct Assistant Professor, Dance Visit Page 816-235-2938 jamesto@umkc.edu
Kari Johnson Adjunct Instructor, Piano Visit Page johnsonkari@umkc.edu
Celeste Johnson Associate Professor of Oboe Visit Page 816-235-5630 johnsonfrehnerc@umkc.edu
David Justin Associate Professor of Dance Visit Page 816-235-2963 holmesdav@umkc.edu
Jeffrey Kail Adjunct Professor of String Bass Visit Page 816-235-1246 kailj@umkc.edu
Maria Kanyova Associate Professor of Voice Visit Page 816-235-2916 kanyovamaria@umkc.edu
Stan Kessler Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Trumpet Visit Page 816-235-2905 kesslers@umkc.edu
Benny Kim Associate Professor of Violin Visit Page 816-235-2935 kimb@umkc.edu
Henry Kramer Assistant Teaching Professor Visit Page 816-235-2962 kramerht@umkc.edu
Karen Kushner Adjunct Associate Professor of Piano Visit Page 816-235-2957 kushnerk@umkc.edu
Fenlon Lamb Director of Opera and Assistant Teaching Professor Visit Page 816-235-2917 lambfm@umkc.edu
Scott Lee Associate Professor of Viola Visit Page 816-235-2944 leesc@umkc.edu
Marcus Lewis Adjunct Instructor, Jazz Visit Page 816-235-2905 lewismar@umkc.edu
Kenneth Lidge Associate Teaching Professor of Music Theory Visit Page 816-235-1248 lidgek@umkc.edu
Jim Lower Adjunct Instructor, Jazz Percussion Visit Page lowerj@umkc.edu
Sabrina Madison-Cannon Professor of Dance / Associate Dean of Academic and Faculty Affairs Visit Page 816-235-2945 madisoncannons@umkc.edu
Jill Marlow Krutzkamp Adjunct Instructor, Dance Visit Page 816-235-2938 krutzkampj@umkc.edu
Emily McGinnis Adjunct Professor of Music/Teaching Fellow Visit Page 816-235-2928 mcginnisej@umkc.edu
Christopher McLaurin Adjunct Professor of Music Visit Page 816-235-6066 mclaurinc@umkc.edu
Michael Mermagen Associate Professor of Music, Cello Visit Page 816-235-2943 mermagenm@umkc.edu
James Mobberley University of Missouri Curators' Distinguished Professor Emeritus Visit Page 816-235-2968 mobberleyj@umkc.edu
Dale Morehouse Associate Professor of Voice - Opera Visit Page 816-235-2934 morehoused@umkc.edu
Christina Neil Adjunct Assistant Professor, Dance Visit Page 816-235-2938 neilc@umkc.edu
Laura New Adjunct Instructor of Music Theory Visit Page 816-235-2967 newl@umkc.edu
Nara Newcomer Head of UMKC Music/Media Library, Adjunct Associate Professor Visit Page 816-235-1679 newcomern@umkc.edu
Ryan Oldham Adjunct Associate Professor of Music Visit Page 816-235-6459 oldhamrp@umkc.edu
Robert Olson Professor, Director of Orchestras Visit Page 816-235-5208 olsonrh@umkc.edu
Joe Parisi Interim Director of the Interdisciplinary PhD Program / Associate Director of Bands Visit Page 816-235-2919 parisijo@umkc.edu
Nick Petrella Adjunct Assistant Professor of Percussion Visit Page 816-235-2950 petrellan@umkc.edu
Diane Petrella Interim Dean/Professor of Piano and Piano Pedagogy/Chair of Keyboard Studies Visit Page 816-235-2960 petrellad@umkc.edu
Mary Posses Associate Professor of Flute Visit Page 816-235-2908 possesm@umkc.edu
Debra K. Raffety Adjunct Instructor of Music Education Visit Page raffetyd@umkc.edu
Natalia Rivera Assistant Teaching Professor; Vocal Coach/Accompanist Visit Page 816-235-2921 riveran@umkc.edu
Amy Robertson Director of Music Therapy/Assistant Professor of Music Therapy Visit Page 816-235-2912 robertsonam@umkc.edu
Charles Robinson Chair of Music Education and Music Therapy / Professor of Choral Music Education, Choral Music Visit Page 816-235-2930 robinsonc@umkc.edu
Paul Rudy Curators' Distinguished Professor of Music Composition Visit Page 816-235-2940 rudyp@umkc.edu
Suzanne Ryanstrati Adjunct Assistant Professor Visit Page 816-235-2938 ryanstratim@umkc.edu
Zachary Shemon Assistant Professor of Saxophone Visit Page 816-235-2733 shemonz@umkc.edu
Reynold Simpson Associate Professor of Music Theory Visit Page 816-235-2933 simpsonr@umkc.edu
James Snell Associate Professor of Music / Associate Dean of Enrollment, Facilities Management and Performance Operations Visit Page 816-235-2950 snellja@umkc.edu
Aidan Soder Associate Professor of Voice Visit Page 816-235-2923 sodera@umkc.edu
Gerald Spaits Adjunct Instructor of Jazz String Bass Visit Page spaitsg@umkc.edu
Thomas Stein Associate Professor of Euphonium and Tuba Visit Page 816-235-5949 steint@umkc.edu
Forest Stewart Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Visit Page stewartf@umkc.edu
Andrew Stinson Adjunct Instructor of Musicology Visit Page stinsonan@umkc.edu
Dan Thomas Assistant Professor, Co-Chair Jazz Studies Visit Page 816-235-6078 thomasdanb@umkc.edu
Lee D. Thompson Adjunct Professor of Music Visit Page 816-235-2964 thompsonlee@umkc.edu
Trevor Thornton Teaching Assistant Visit Page thorntontr@umkc.edu
David Thurmaier Chair of Composition, Music Theory and Musicology / Associate Professor of Music Theory Visit Page 816-235-2898 thurmaierd@umkc.edu
Ronald Tice Associate Professor of Dance Visit Page 816-235-2732 ticer@umkc.edu
Sarah Tyrrell Associate Teaching Professor Visit Page 816-235-2970 tyrrells@umkc.edu
Elizabeth Valle Academy Program Assistant Visit Page vallee@umkc.edu
Dan Velicer Associate Adjunct Professor, Collaborative Piano Visit Page velicerd@umkc.edu
Michael Warren Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Visit Page warrenma@umkc.edu
Bobby Watson, Jr. William D. and Mary Grant / Missouri Professor of Jazz Studies, Co-Chair Jazz Studies Visit Page 816-235-2905 watsonr@umkc.edu
Paula Weber Chair of Dance / Professor of Dance Visit Page 816-235-5216 weberp@umkc.edu
Robert Weirich Jack Strandberg/Missouri Endowed Chair of Piano Visit Page 816-235-2957 weirichr@umkc.edu
Roger Wilder Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Piano Visit Page wilderr@umkc.edu
Richard Williams Assistant Professor of Piano / Voice / Collaborative Pianist / Vocal Coach Accompanist Visit Page 816-235-2914 williamsr@umkc.edu
Dr. Zhou Long Distinguished Professor of Music Composition Visit Page 816-235-2924 zhoul@umkc.edu