Joe Parisi Image

Joe Parisi

Interim Director of the Interdisciplinary PhD Program / Professor of Instrumental Music Education / Associate Director of Bands

Joseph Parisi is a professor at the UMKC Conservatory of Music and Dance where he conducts the Conservatory Wind Ensemble and serves as the chair of music education and music therapy. Professor Parisi has also made professional appearances both nationally and abroad conducting music festivals, adjudicating ensembles and presenting clinics, lectures and workshops throughout the United States, United Kingdom, China, and Europe.

His commitment to wind band music continues as he enters his 14th year as the director of the Conservatory Wind Ensemble. Under his direction, the Conservatory Wind Ensemble has collaborated with many outstanding artists and composers, has been invited to perform at state and regional performances, and continues to commission and perform new works each year.

Parisi has several professional recording credits to his portfolio including the Fountain City Brass Band and additional ensembles as a conductor and trumpet performer. He is the principal conductor of the Summit Brass at the Raphael Mendez Brass Institute in Denver and the Fountain City Brass Band.

Since becoming the conductor of Kansas City’s Fountain City Brass Band, the group has been recognized as one of the world’s top brass bands, with more than a dozen winning performances at the North American Brass Band Championships and the US Open Brass Band Championship. As a result of Parisi’s work, he has been nominated numerous times for the Conductor of the Year Award, and received the winning conductor award at the 2009 Scottish Open.

Parisi completed a bachelor’s degree in music education at the State University of New York at Potsdam (Crane School of Music); a master’s degree in trumpet performance from Florida State University and a PhD in instrumental conducting/music education from Florida State University. While at the Conservatory, Parisi has received the Kauffman Outstanding Service Award (2005), the Kauffman Excellence in Teaching Award in (2009), and the Kauffman Award for Outstanding Research and Creative Activity (2014).