Finalists for 2016 Chamber Music Composition Competition


The UMKC Conservatory is pleased to announce the four finalists for the 2016 Chamber Music Composition Competition:

Zheng Shao, Xian Ge
Ben Stevenson, Lore
Christina Butera, chi bedda vuci avia II
Philip DeWalt, Milkweed

The four students are DMA in composition. The judges were Marilyn Shrude, Bowling Green State University and Pierre Jalbert, Rice University.  

The instrumentation for the competition changes each year; this year it was for mixed ensemble of 3–5 players, chosen from 1 flute, 1 clarinet, 1 violin, 1 cello, 1 percussion, 1 piano, and 1 voice. The four pieces will be performed on the Musica Nova concert, April 21, 2016, 7:30 p.m., White Recital Hall, and the audience will choose the winner.


For more information, please contact:

Name: Dana Self
Phone: 816-235-2949