2014-15 Kauffman Excellence in Teaching Awards


The late Muriel McBrien Kauffman established an annual gift to the Conservatory to reward outstanding faculty and staff through the excellence in teaching and service awards. In 1998 the Excellence in Teaching award was increased with the encouragement of Muriel's daughter, Julia Irene Kauffman.  All honorees, selected by a group of constituent leaders, students, and former award winners, receive a monetary prize and a plaque.

The 2014–2015 Kauffman Excellence in Teaching Awards are presented at the May 16, 2015 Conservatory Commencement Recognition Ceremony in the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts’ Helzberg Hall.  Here are this year's winners.

Excellence in Teaching: JoDee Davis, Associate Professor of Trombone

Excellence in Research and Creativity: Andrew Granade, Chair of Composition, Music Theory, and Musicology/Associate Professor of Musicology

Excellence in Faculty Service: Diane Petrella, Associate Professor of Piano and Piano Pedagogy / Chair of Keyboard Studies/Associate Dean for Graduate Studies

Excellence in Staff Service: Jason Scheufler, Recording Engineer

Graduate Teaching Assistant Award: Richard Jeric, piano performance, Artist’s Certificate


For more information, please contact:

Name: Dana Self
Phone: 816-235-2949