Winners of Rebecca Sherburn Vocal Composition Competition Announced


The UMKC Conservatory announces the winners of the Rebecca Sherburn Vocal Composition CompetitionRebecca Sherburn is associate professor of voice at the Conservatory.

First Prize: Jeff Borowiec's Joyful Noise ($300)

Second Prizes (tied): Cooper Ottum's A Flutter of Modest Aspiration for soprano, clarinet, violin, and cello ($100); and Derek Jenkins's Nach Raum und Zeit for high voice and piano ($100).

Honorable Mention: Jiyoun Chung's Rain Will Come What May for soprano and piano.

The First Prize winning work will be coached by Dr. Sherburn in rehearsals, and premieres in the UMKC Musica Nova concert February 13, 2014, White Recital Hall. 

The UMKC Composition program is grateful for Prof. Rebecca Sherburn's vision and generous support to new music creation, particularly in art song compositions written by young composers.


For more information, please contact:

Name: Dana Self
Phone: 816-235-2949