Conservatory Composition Students' Work Fills Program at New York's Symphony Space


On October 26, 2013, New York City's Symphony Space hosts Music From China's program, Premiere Works XXII: Music of Young Composers.  All of the composers are students from the UMKC Conservatory.  

Established in 1984, Music From China embraces both traditional and new music in a repertoire of Chinese classical and folk-inspired arrangements and works by living composers. Premiere Works XXII, is the latest in a series dedicated to contemporary Chinese music, and features world premieres of new work by young Chinese and American composers. Fresh and colorful, all the compositions are written with East-West instrumentation creating new sound worlds for contemporary Chinese music.

In three of them, the composers perform their own works.

The concert is 7:30 p.m., Leonard Nimoy Thalia at Symphony Space.  Here is the program:

LI XINYAN: Legend of the White Snake (commissioned work), erhu, pipa, flute, percussion
MICHAEL MILLER: Arapaima, zhonghu & bass clarinet
SCOTT STEELE: The Avoidance of a Word, erhu, cello, percussion
WANG A MAO: The Feeble Breeze, The Sullen Spring, zhonghu, bass clarinet, percussion
ZHOU JING: Melancolique, cello and zheng
KERWIN YOUNG: Erhu and Pipa Suite for a Lonely Man

Musicians: Wang Guowei, erhu/zhonghu; Sun Li, pipa; Anna Urrey, flute; Alvin Wong, cello; Zhou Jing, zheng; Michael Miller, bass clarinet; Scott Steele, percussion


For more information, please contact:

Name: Dana Self
Phone: 816-235-2949