eighth blackbird's First 2012 Kansas City Concert is at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art


The Grammy winning (small ensemble performance/classical Grammy for Steve Mackey’s Lonely Motel) experimental ensemble eighth blackbird, named the Conservatory's  2012 Barr Laureate Ensemble, will give its first 2012 Kansas City performance at The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Atkins Auditorium, Sunday, March 4, 2012, 2:30 p.m.

The dynamic program is as follows.

David Lang: these broken wings  (2008)

Andy Akiho: ErAsE (2011)

Bruno Mantovani: Chamber Concerto No. 2 (2011)


Philip Glass: Music in Similar Motion (1969)

Stephen Hartke: Meanwhile: Incidental music to imaginary puppet plays (2007)

Stephen Hartke is the Barr Institute’s second laureate, 2009–2012.  Andy Akiho's composition, written for the ensemble, is the winner of eighth blackbird's first-ever composition contest.

The concert is free, but tickets are required.  Free tickets are available by phone (816) 751-1ART, online at, at the Museum's Info Desk, or here.

For more information, please contact:

Name: Dana Self
Phone: 816-235-2949