Composition Faculty Chen Yi Has U.S. Premiere in North Carolina


The UMKC Conservatory is pleased to note that world-renowned composer and faculty Chen Yi's new piano concerto Four Spirits for Piano and Orchestra had its U.S. premiere in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.  
The China Philharmonic Orchestra premiered the piece at UNC-Chapel Hill, Thursday, December 8, 2016.  

The piece was commissioned by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The world premiere was at the Forbidden City Concert Hall, Beijing, China, November 18, 2016. The US premiere was at the Memorial Hall in the Carolina Performing Arts (CPA), University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill by the China Philharmonic Orchestra, with piano soloist Clara Yang, a UNC-Chapel Hill faculty member, conducted by Long Yu.

Chen Yi notes, "Four Spirits represented the four sacred animals in Chinese legend: the blue dragon in the east, the black xuanwu (a combination of turtle and snake in one) in the north, the white tiger in the west, and the red phoenix in the south. The images have inspired me in my music creation."


Click here for some photographs of the concert.

The Five Points Star


For more information, please contact:

Name: Dana Self
Phone: 816-235-2949