Conservatory's Kauffman Award Winners, 2020

The UMKC Conservatory is pleased to announce the 2020 Kauffman Award winners. The late Muriel McBrien Kauffman established an annual gift to the Conservatory to reward outstanding faculty and staff through the excellence in teaching and service awards. The first awards were presented in 1991 and continue to underscore the Conservatory’s commitment to excellence. In 1998 the Excellence in Teaching award was increased with the encouragement of Muriel’s daughter Julia Irene Kauffman.

All honorees, selected by a group of constituent leaders, students, and former award-winners, receive a monetary prize and a plaque. 

Excellence in Teaching: William Everett, Curators' Distinguished Professor of Musicology
Excellence in Research/Creative Activity: Keith Benjamin, Curators' Distinguished Professor of Trumpet
Faculty Service: Andrew Granade, Professor of Musicology and Associate Dean for Graduate and Faculty Affairs
Staff Services: Helen Perry, Student Services Manager
UMKC Friends of the Conservatory Faculty Excellence: Sarah Oliver, Assistant Teaching Professor of Costume Technology
Superior GTA Award: Henry Waters, Doctoral Choral GTA


Published: May 15, 2020