Conservatory Names 2021 Kauffman Award Winners

The UMKC Conservatory announces its Muriel McBrien Kauffman Excellence in Teaching Awards, 2020–21. The late Muriel McBrien Kauffman established an annual gift to the Conservatory to reward outstanding faculty and staff through the excellence in teaching and service awards. The first awards were presented in 1991 and continue to underscore the Conservatory’s commitment to excellence. In 1998 the Excellence in Teaching award was increased with the encouragement of Muriel’s daughter Julia Irene Kauffman. All honorees, selected by a group of constituent leaders, students, and former award-winners, receive a monetary prize and a plaque.

Excellence in Teaching
Joe Parisi, Curators' Distinguished Professor of Instrumental Music Education / Associate Director of Bands / Director of the Interdisciplinary PhD Program

Excellence in Creative and Scholarly Research
Stephanie Roberts, Associate Professor of Physical Theatre

Excellence in Faculty Service
JoDee Davis, Professor of Trombone

Excellence in Staff Service
Bob Beck, Recording Engineer

Superior Graduate Assistant
Nick Gillock, Graduate Teaching Assistant

Friends of the Conservatory Faculty Excellence
Amy Robertson, Director of Music Therapy/Assistant Professor of Music Therapy


Published: May 19, 2021