Conservatory Names 2022 Kauffman Award Winners

The UMKC Conservatory announces its Muriel McBrien Kauffman Excellence in Teaching Awards, 2021–22. The late Muriel McBrien Kauffman established an annual gift to the Conservatory to reward outstanding faculty and staff through the excellence in teaching and service awards. The first awards were presented in 1991 and continue to underscore the Conservatory’s commitment to excellence. In 1998 the Excellence in Teaching award was increased with the encouragement of Muriel’s daughter Julia Irene Kauffman. All honorees, selected by a group of constituent leaders, students, and former award-winners, receive a monetary prize and a plaque.

Excellence in Teaching: Carla Noack, Associate Professor of Theatre in Acting

Creative and Scholarly Research: Celeste Johnson, Associate Professor of Oboe

Faculty Service: Ronn Tice, Associate Professor of Dance

Staff Service: Jennifer Burrus, Senior Executive Assistant

Superior Graduate Assistant: Grant Unnerstall

Friends’ Faculty Excellence: Karen Savage, Associate Professor of Collaborative Piano