PRISM Quartet Releases New Album

PRISM Quartet, of which Conservatory Associate Professor of Saxophone Zachary Shemon is a member, releases a new album August 13, 2021. Heritage/Evolution V2 features Ravi Coltrane, Joe Lovano and Chris Potter as players and composers with PRISM.

This is the second volume in PRISM's massive commissioning project which merges and pushes forward the evolution of jazz and classical saxophone. A whole new repertoire is being created by some of the greatest jazz composers, and PRISM’s classical players deliver it as only they can. 

Jazz/classical saxophone heritage comes together through this ongoing project. The debut album Heritage/Evolution V1 featured commissioned works by Steve Lehman, Dave Liebman, Rudresh Mahanthappa, Greg Osby, Tim Ries, and Miguel Zenón. Volume 3 is already in the works, and will feature Melissa Aldana and Terell Stafford, among others (Melissa will be the 10th saxophonist/composer commissioned for the project). Read more!

Congratulations, PRISM Quartet.