2017–18 Kauffman Excellence in Teaching Awards

The late Muriel McBrien Kauffman established an annual gift to the Conservatory to reward outstanding faculty and staff through the excellence in teaching and service awards. The first awards were presented in 1991 and continue to underscore the Conservatory’s commitment to excellence.  In 1998 the Excellence in Teaching award was increased with the encouragement of Muriel’s daughter Julia Irene Kauffman. All honorees, selected by a group of constituent leaders, students, and former award-winners, receive a monetary prize and a plaque.

The 2017–2018 Kauffman Excellence in Teaching Awards are presented at Spring Commencement, May 12, 2018, Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Helzberg Hall. 

Excellence in Teaching, Dr. Kenneth Lidge, Associate Teaching Professor of Music Theory

Excellence in Research and Creativity, Mr. Gary Abbott, Assistant Professor of Modern Dance

Excellence in Faculty Service, Dr. Aidan Soder, Associate Professor of Voice

Friends of the Conservatory of Music and Dance Faculty Excellence Award, Mr. Zachary Shemon, Assistant Professor of Saxophone

Excellence in Staff Service, Ms. Julie Koch, Head of Admissions

Graduate Teaching Assistant Award, Mr. Alastair Wright, DMA, saxophone performance


Published: May 4, 2018